Home > Uncategorized > How To Resolve driver_irql_not_less_or_equal With Windows 7

How To Resolve driver_irql_not_less_or_equal With Windows 7

At my work place I had a few computers blue screen and showed the message driver_irql_not_less_or_equal , all of these machines were running microsoft windows 7.  This issue was strange as the issue started to happen at the same time on all the machines.  Being the IT guy at the company it was down to me to fix this issue 🙂 I found this guide driver_irql_not_less_or_equal which helped me fix the issue with the windows 7 machines blue screening (crashing )

The machines were getting a blue screen like the one shown below

driver_irql_not_less_or_equal Windows 7

driver_irql_not_less_or_equal Windows 7

Looking at the blue screen I can see that the file alcxwdm.sys is causing the blue screen issue with the driver_irql_not_less_or_equal message.  Using this information I managed to fix the issue

How I Resolved driver_irql_not_less_or_equal With Windows 7

Well we now know that the file alcxwdm.sys was causing the problem,  I did not know what this file was so I googled it.  I then found out that this file was a hardware driver for a Realtek AC’97 Audio device.  I then had 2 options,  I thought I could disable the audio device in the systems BIOS and then disable all audio in the operating system (My users do not need audio) but I thought this was not really fixing the issue, just hiding it,  And my users might try to enable the audio at a later date.

So to fix this issue I went to Realteks website and I downloaded the latest audio driver and installed it on there systems.  I had to go round and do this manually 😦  But the good news it that I did this 3 weeks ago and I have not had a single driver_irql_not_less_or_equal blue screen of death since then on any systems.  So my advise for this issue is to find out what file is causing the blue screens then try and update it with a new version

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

